Training Day, III

September 13, 2007

Out of love for you, fine readers, I would like to issue you the following public service announcement.

*Do not attempt to resume any type of training program after you have taken a three day break which involved one late evening of one, or two, or seven beers and concluded with a three hour drive home.*

I started a new training program today – I mean, I LOVE Krissie for pushing me and believing in me – and to be fair, she did say that I could do this at my own pace – so I am doing a program for the uber beginner.

For the first week, three times a week – five minute walk, then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes.

I am hear to tell you that it sounds a LOT easier than it actually is if you are truly a beginner at the running thing. I used my iPod’s stopwatch feature to time my intervals. I must have looked at that thing every 5 seconds during the 60 seconds of jogging part.

Also, the hills are out to get me. They timed it just right so that when my 60 seconds of jogging began, I was conveniently at the bottom of an incline. Bastards.

I am still on the hunt for the perfect workout playlist. If you know of any good songs that are set at a good jogging tempo, please send them my way. Also note the word jogging and remember that my 5’2″ stride does not equal that of the average adult.

So, the bad news is that what I thought would be an easy program actually kicked my ass.

The good news is that I did it anyway.

Leave a Reply

