Training Day

September 11, 2007

My high school friend, Beth has agreed to join me in my pursuit of insanity. In classic Margie style, I’ve decided to take up hobby #376.

My Charlotte friend, Krissie believes in me so much that she has not only asked me to join her in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K in October, but has also written up a training schedule. So sweet.

I started the aforementioned training program today. Too bad I sucked it. I’m not giving up by any means, but it was a definite wake up call that I am ridiculously out of shape and also – running does not equal walking. I can walk hard for miles. Running, not so much.

I’ve decided to chronicle my training here. If for nothing else but to document my stupidity and also keep me writing about something. Enjoy my demise.

Today, I went to the gym due to the heat. I was on the treadmill for 25 minutes, one quarter of that was running. And if I wasn’t dizzy from not being used to keeping my balance on a treadmill while running, I was hard core sucking wind.

It’s weird too, because I walk a pretty fast pace and even though I’m breathing hard, I never feel winded or dizzy. I’m learning that running is a whole new ball game.

Tomorrow I’m going to try to run in the neighborhood and see if it’s any easier. I sure am going to miss that treadmill fan that’s RIGHT in my face, though. I love a good breeze while dying.

At least I bought the shoes. Now I need Beth’s fancy watch.

If you want to virtually train with me, Beth, and Krissie, let me know!

Leave a Reply

